Waterfalls in Lovina, Bali

Following on from my first post on my recent trip to Bali, I bring you the second in the series as I moved on from Candi Dasa to Lovina and about that “tropical paradise” I mentioned in the last post…

After breakfast we visited Tirta Gangga – ‘water of the Ganges’ which is a water palace built in the early 20th Century. It was full of lots of ponds and fountains, lush plant life and natural pools.

Continuing on to Amed – a quiet seaside village where several people were fishing, snorkelling and diving on the nearby reef, we took out a traditional wooden Prahu boat for fabulous views of the coastline and the surroundings. I am not much of a boat person, I have tried ( a lot!) and I am sure I will try again but I was feeling a little queazy after an hour bobbing around in Bali’s not so calm waters.

What I am eating..

After the boat trip had made me feel a little unsettled, I was not sure about food but we stopped at a lovely local  shack restaurant on the beach and I ordered the fish of the day, it was swordfish, beautiful and meaty, simply grilled to perfection with fries. Just what I wanted.

13532777_10154324468948276_6410070944517262778_n

Where I am Sleeping..

We arrived in Lovina later that afternoon and checked in at The Lovina hotel. This area is the “low key” beach area of Bali on the north coast with volcanic black sand beaches and calm waters. The room was huge with a large separate living space bigger than my flat I think!

What I am Planning..

Following breakfast we spent the day treking through the natural beauty the area visiting several waterfalls. This place was breathtaking and we were able to jump from the top of the falls into the pools below which was amazing. I was slightly concerned about doing this due to an injury I had sustained earlier in the year (stay tuned for that trip). I am not one to let anything get in my way though and would hate to have a case of FOMO hence I took the plunge.I am so glad I did, these sorts of memories and experiences are what makes a trip don’t you think?

Starting to look like that tropical paradise I was dreaming of..

13533290_10154326983098276_410144859055951032_n

Mr H then went on to silly heights, jumping off a 50 metre waterfall further on. I have to give it to him, he has some serious balls to do that – he did slightly regret it though when he landed on his arse and ended up with a huge bruise! Boys will be boys…

After this, we grabbed some lunch in yet another stunning location and headed back to the hotel for the rest of the day to snooze by the pool.

Followed by a leisurely sun-downer drink. Cheers!

facebook_1485275069659

The following day we headed off to our next adventures in Ubud and a seriously special hotel (more on that soon), stopping en route to see the “floating” Ulun Danu Temple at Lake Bratan.

Stay posted for more on my continued travels through Bali..

Happy Travels!

Mrs H x

 

Leave a Reply

