Brooklyn Bites

The Bridge

Continuing the New York series, today’s adventure consisted of a trip to Brooklyn via one very famous landmark…

It was a perishing December day with the odd snow flurry attacking from all angles when Mr H and I traversed the bridge. Luckily I had my cosy  Rab Microlight down jacket to keep me warm.

I have to admit that given the freezing temperature I probably got a bit of a sprint jog on to get to the other side and perhaps did not get to take in the walk over as much as I might have liked. However, this does allow me to suggest to you that it might be a more enjoyable experience in the warmer months!

Bites

Since it was New Years Eve and well…Brooklyn, I opted for pizza for lunch. Grimaldis had a queue out the door with hoards of weary Brooklyn Bridge patrons looking for some of that traditional New York pizza they had heard so much about.  Thankfully we arrived early and so did not have to wait long to be seated. Decor was simple – paper plates, plastic cutlery and lots of gingham but who needs a silk napkin when you have pizza this good. There are no slices here – only whole, real deal, wood fired pizza. We kept it simple. One topping. Pepperoni – it had to be. Chased down with a canollo to share. I had read they were the best outside of Sicily and being a canolli addict it had to be done really.

Following lunch we meandered round the streets of Brooklyn, taking in the neighbourhoods of Dumbo, Williamsberg and Brooklyn Heights and their magnificent brown stone buildings. We gazed at the best views of Manhatten from the Brooklyn Heights Promenade and felt like big kids on finding on of the oldest working carosells. Enjoyed the brown stone buildings.

I spy NYC…

dsc_1696

The Sweet Treat Trail

In keeping with maximal use of feet on this trip (and needing to work off some pizza), I decided to take the long trip back up through Greenwich and the Meatpacking district to find ourselves in Chelsea and near a place I had been wanting to visit (what are the chances 😉 ) City Cakes. Famed for their half pound cookies of which they make a handful of different flavours as their main business is in celebration cakes, City Cakes was very unassuming from the outside, much less so than the scrum which surrounds Levain for example!

dsc_1708

I didn’t have to queue (unlike Levain) and had time to pore over which delicious cookie to choose. I had a good idea straight away…

Enter this guy…cream cheese stuffed red velvet half pound cookie!

I have never been a massive red velvet fan – I can hear the sharp intake of breath here but this cookie may have started to sway me. I mean, how did they get the cream cheese frosting inside!? I may have to experiment with this one.

Mr H and I found a quiet corner of a local cafe and devoured it, immediately wishing there had been two but I think our waistlines probably thanked us it was just the one.

Evening Fun

If you are looking for somewhere fun to go in the evening and want the all american diner experience, I would recommend Juniors in mid town for THE best cheesecake.

Red velvet cheesecake. Sky high. Crammed with velvety vanilla cheesecake and cream cheese frosting.

facebook_1485275069659

I immediately asked them if they shipped to the UK. Sadly not. So keep reading to check out my attempts at recreating this one!

If you are looking for somewhere with a bit of Mexican spice and a bloody good margarita then look no further than Toloache.

_20161230_220919

Whilst in the mid town area, why not go to a Broadway show. Cut price tickets become available on the day from TKTs booths. Enjoy!

Happy Travels!

Mrs H x

Leave a Reply

