Weather – Please Be Kind!

It’s just one week to go until our trip to the Lake District and I am trying to do a little bit of packing and planning for it…

Where I am sleeping…

So far I have a lovely cottage booked in Low Beck Bottom near Ulverston in the south of the park with the idea being if the weather is really bad it is easier to get in and out of the area from here. I am a bit of a sucker for a luxury hotel (who isn’t??) but since I have spent a lot of time in hotels recently, I opted for a cosy cottage away from everything and everyone! So the hunt for the perfect cottage was a tough balancing act between the right location for reaching the rest of the area, facilities and setting. I used Sawdays to find the perfect cottage; they have a range of properties for all budgets and they seek to find offer special places with added quirkiness and creativity in the walls. Check them out: https://www.sawdays.co.uk/about-sawdays

Mr H and my special place for the week is this little beaut…

howe-foot_gallery_preview

What I’m packing…

When it comes to packing, I must admit I am a throw it all in kinda gal! This is especially true if I am driving somewhere. If it fits in the car, it’s coming. I am, however, trying to rein this in, given I should only really need my walking gear for the day and jeans and jumpers for those chilly nights by the open fire. I have treated myself to a couple of new bits which I have been using endlessly in the cold weather we have been having. A new Rab Microlight down jacket to keep me toasty and an Arcteryx Zeta AR shell to keep me dry!

lakes
Mr H also insisted on some micro spikes for if conditions are icy.

The plan is to get as much walking in as we can or “bag some Wainwrights!” as they say, whilst taking in the picturesque scenery and hoping that the weather holds (I know, hope and weather should never be combined in the Lake District). I will give you a run down of what we actually manage to achieve once I get back, but hoping to cover the Fairfield Hoseshoe, Langdales and the Angletarn pikes, amongst others.

 

The plan was pulled together using a number of resources, starting with a couple of great books our neighbour lent us, getting further into some detail with  walkingbritain.com , storing routes using a great GPS app and website called ViewRanger, as well as a superb spreadsheet (I’m a big Excel fans!).

Finally, we’ve been keeping a close eye on conditions across the fells using a combination of WeatherlineMet Office Mountain Forecast and MWIS,

What I’m eating…

I have eaten out A LOT recently, with all the excesses of Christmas, New York (more on that soon), a cheeky sherry tasting here (who needs dry January anyway) and breakfast here this weekend just gone. So the plan for eats is to cook up a storm in our little cottage, butties for lunch, a couple of decent pubs for dinner and maybe some fish and chips….so really – may the excess continue!

Keep you posted. Happy travels!

Mrs H x

Leave a Reply

